Hints and Tips to Improve Pet Photography Composition

Deb my mum is a pet photographer in Cumbria and we thought you might like to know how she composes pet photographs to make them interesting so that maybe you can try to take some creative photographs of your own pet.

Whilst capturing pet photography Deb usually places me or my face (the main focal point of the photograph) off centre to create an interesting composition. Imagine two vertical lines and two horizontal lines across your camera viewfinder when composing your shot and place your focal point where the lines cross, like this –

Pet Photography Cumbria

As you will notice Deb has placed my eyes were the lines intersect with my nose on the vertical line to create a pleasing composition.

Sometimes she uses landscape format placing the longest side of the photograph at the bottom of the frame, like this –

IMG_7507

Landscape Format

Sometimes she chooses portrait format by turning her camera so that the longest side of the image is vertical, just like this –

IMG_7510

Portrait Format

Experiment with both to see which works best for your pet portraits.

By capturing wide angle shots (standing back and setting her lens as wide as possible) Deb captures photographs of me with an interesting background to create a sense of space and set the scene. As I am a Red and White Border Collie Dog and I like to stalk sheep , so Deb captured a wide angle shot to show one of my behaviour traits. In Cumbria there are lovely landscape scenes which Deb uses as a backdrop for wide angle shots but you could practice this pet photography technique in your garden or local park.

Border Collie Dog Stalking Sheep

Wide Angle Composition

She also captures close ups of me by zooming in and/or standing close when composing her photo to show finer details like my yellow eyes and red fur off well.

          Red and White Border Collie Dog

          Close Up Composition

I hope you will enjoy trying out these pet photography composition techniques.

Have a look at some of Deb’s pet photo galleries https://debsdogphotos.wordpress.com/photo-galleries/

Speak Soon Woof! Woof ! Maggie

, , , , , , , ,

